Helena Kandarova

Helena's main field of interest is the development of in vitro methods for reduction & replacement of in vivo tests for topical toxicity testing. Throughout her academic and professional career, she has been involved in projects aimed at the evaluation and validation of 3D reconstructed human tissue (RhT) models as replacements for animal tests. In particular, she had been involved in successful validation and pre-validation studies for skin corrosion, skin and eye irritation testing. 

Helena is member of SOT, ESTIV, SETOX, EUSAAT and several other professional platforms and expert panels at the OECD and EU level. She (co)authored > 20 publications (> 400 cited references) and is a frequent speaker at international meetings and conferences. Helena is also co-founder of the In Vitro Toxicology Division of SETOX and member of the editorial board of Journal Interdisciplinary Toxicology, ATLA and Skin Pharmacology and Physiology. She actively contributes to the dissemination of the information on the alternative methods to animal experiments and to their implementation into toxicology.

Specialties: Topical toxicity testing: skin and eye irritation and corrosion, phototoxicity; assay development, optimization, validation, strategies and test guidelines development for risk and safety assessments, cosmetic and food chemistry, design and management of large research projects and international validation studies.

Current positions:
Executive Director - MatTek In Vitro Life Science Laboratories (2009 -present) 
Senior Scientist - MatTek Corporation (2007-present)
Board member – ESTIV
Vice-President - SETOX 
Member of Audit Committee - EUSAAT
Member of the OECD expert groups on topical toxicity (skin and eye)

National Coordinator of the OECD TG Program - (2011 – 2013) 
Board member - Slovak Society of Cosmetology (2000 – 2004)

ZEBET at the BfR (PhD student/research associate)

Honors and Awards:
2014 Colgate-Palmolive In Vitro Toxicology Lecture for Students - US SOT
2012 Four Paws poster award - EUSAAT Congress 2012
2007 Linz Congress poster award